As working moms we juggle a HUGE amount on a daily basis:  clients, meetings, making lunches, dropping off at school, picking up from basketball, doing the laundry, mopping the floors.  The list seems literally endless.  And somehow we all manage through.  But that is just it!  We shouldn’t just be “managing” through.  I’m incredibly guilty of this.  I’ll barely look up from the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I’m making for the boys’ lunches to kiss my husband’s cheek when he walks through the door at night.  And he barely has time to take his jacket off before he is in the bathroom with the boys helping them get the soap out of their hair.  By the time we have the boys settled and in bed we have a brief window of “together” time which is spent whipping up something for us to eat before I’m off to bed.  It feels like this assembly line of “doing” from the moment we roll out of bed to the time we finally drag ourselves off to sleep at night. 

We’ve become the machine.  Welcome to Family Inc.

But I’ve heard from people who say this ends.  I know it seems unbelievable but I’ve been told by several reliable sources that there will come a time when the buys won’t want my help bathing and wouldn’t be caught dead with a homemade peanut butter and jelly sandwich at school.  And then it will just be me and my husband every night with nothing to do but talk to each other. 

Scary, right?

It doesn’t have to be scary.  If we commit to carving out time our husbands and nurturing our relationships we don’t have to lose the connections we have with them – you know the reason we married them in the first place.  But we need to make a conscious effort and not let the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches get in the way.

So I challenge you to ask your husband out on a date this week.  He will probably think he missed your anniversary or birthday so don’t be put off by the initial look of panic that you are likely to see on his face.  The date doesn’t have to be fancy.  You can reconnect just as easily at Dairy Queen as you can at Flemming’s.  It’s simply a time where the two of you can spend time enjoying each other without interruptions.  Just do it and let me know how it goes!

