Throughout my career and from time to time, management asks me to go through the exercise of filling out a professional version of the Cosmo quiz to figure out who I am and how to fix me – errr, help me reach my potential.  In my twenties I found these “professional personality tests” fascinating.  Mostly because I didn’t know who I was and was very appreciative that someone figured it out for me.  Now I find them to be ongoing affirmations of the fact that I’m exactly who I know I am.  And furthermore it’s pretty much a lost cause at this point in the game to try to get me to change much of anything.  But for some sick reason I still LOVE taking them!

So I was taking one of these bad boys last week when it dawns on me that my answers are likely identical to the answers my oldest son will be giving when it’s his turn to be figured out by management twenty years from now.  And as I am reading through the test results I realize that everything this test is pointing out about me are the exact things about my son that cause him to continuously dance on my last nerve.

It’s a teeny bit heartbreaking because I know I am all over my oldest son, who is demanding and never satisfied (like his mama), yet I completely baby my youngest son who is grateful to the point where he is happy just to be given the receipt from the shopping trip (I’m serious).  My husband is always telling me that our oldest is my fault.  And now I’m realizing while reviewing my test results that he is 100% right – at least according to my DISC profile!

I’m actually contemplating having our whole family take one of the profile tests to figure out how to fix all the bickering, tantrums, and wrestling that goes on in our home.  In fact, I’m thinking that hospitals should start mandating parents take these while in the labor in delivery rooms – you know when we’re all at our most honest.  Pediatricians should incorporate these tests into the four-year old check up – like here’s your measles, mumps, and rubella boosters and which of these four words best describes you.   This could revolutionize the way we interact as families.  Parents always complain that children don’t come with a manual – now we could give them one.  Mr. Smith, you see you are compliance oriented,  that is why it bothers you so much when your children leave their wet towels on the floor.  Here’s the best way to work toward a resolution with your children who aren’t in the least compliant.

Oh Lord, if it were only that simple!  But one can always dream!

